Asian market

The Asian market is a demanding market that requires constant monitoring and adaptation.

Despite rigorous export conditions in Asia, the development and economic growth of secondary cities, in particular, means that new markets are opening with a different mode of consumption. Formerly a luxury product, wine is becoming more attractive, particularly to younger consumers who have seen their purchasing power increase. Wine is now associated with a lifestyle.

This new clientele has a real interest in knowing more about the wines they consume. This thirst for knowledge is more than a trend, and it translates into a demand for proximity and meetings with producers. The new consumer is attentive to the origin, the brand and the packaging, as well as to the reputation of the vineyard, the quality of the wine, and the recommendations.

There is also a growing interest in wines that originate from responsible agriculture: organic, biodynamic, natural and IGP wines, particularly in South Korea and Taiwan.

The Asia-Pacific wine market is expected to grow almost 14% by 2022, compared with 2017, the highest rate of growth in any region in the world. The most attractive markets in Asia are China, South Korea, and Japan, while the main emerging markets are Taiwan and Singapore in South East Asia.

(Sources: Marketing China - July 2019 |Business France - 2019 | Adocc agency - May 2020 | Ambafrance.org )

American market

The global health crisis and customs constraints haven't spared the wine and spirits sector in North America, and all participants in the industry have been forced to adapt their distribution channels. With an annual consumption of 11 litres per capita in North America, online sales from dedicated web platforms, the more widespread recourse to home delivery, etc., e-commerce makes real sense, and it now has a decisive place on the American market.

With 650 million consumers, 2 billion USD in imports and a change in cultural mentalities, Latin America has seen its wine consumption doubled, with a growing consumer interest in foreign wine appellations and in IGPs alongside AOPs and AOCs, notably from Argentina, Uruguay, and Chile.

Consumers are generally price sensitive, but the highest socio-professional categories tend to seek better and newer products.

Despite the impact of COVID-19, political vagaries, and economic crises, American markets remain buoyant and offer many opportunities for producers looking to export their wine.

(Sources: Business France San Francisco - April 2020 | Vitisphere and Team France Export - June 2020)

European market

With more than 5% of world imports in volume in 2018, and three European countries amongst the top five countries (France, Italy, Germany, the United States, China) which alone account for 50% of world consumption, the Wine and Spirits sector represents 65% of European Union's market share.

Many countries such as Hungary, Poland, Romania and Ukraine are moving towards more Western habits of consumption. The increase in their purchasing power benefits the wine market, and consumption is continually increasing. The development of the wine bar culture, the multiplication of promotional activities for wines, and consumer education favour market growth.

For several years, the European market has also shown a very strong interest in premium, Bio/Organic, high environmental value (HVE), natural, and biodynamic wines, amongst others. 

Between health concerns and changes in consumption habits, business opportunities remain numerous. Despite strong competition between producing countries, experts are still confident that European exports will be maintained due to the strong demand for wines with a geographical indication.

(Sources :  Business France – 2019 | agence Adocc- mai 2020 | Ambafrance.org | CCI France – 2019
France Agrimer – juillet 2020 | vinetsociete.fr – 2019 | la revue du vin de France – 2018 | vitisphère – jan 2020)

Le marché Asie-Pacifique

Le marché asiatique est un marché exigent qui demande une veille et une adaptation constante.

Au-delà des conditions d’exportations rigoureuses en Asie, le développement, la croissance économique des villes notamment secondaires ouvrent de nouveaux marchés avec un mode de consommation différent. Autrefois produit de luxe, le vin devient plus attractif et particulièrement auprès de consommateurs plus jeunes et qui ont vu leur pouvoir d’achat augmenter. Le vin est désormais associé à un style de vie.

Cette clientèle nouvelle éprouve un réel intérêt à en savoir plus sur les vins qu’elle consomme. Cette soif de connaissance, est plus qu’une tendance, elle se traduit par une demande de proximité et de rencontres avec les producteurs.  Ce nouveau consommateur est attentif à la provenance, à la marque et au packaging mais aussi à la notoriété du vignoble, la qualité du vin et aux recommandations.

On note également un intérêt grandissant pour les vins issus d’une agriculture responsable : vins biologiques, biodynamiques, naturels et IGP notamment en Corée du Sud et à Taiwan.

Le marché du vin en Asie-Pacifique devrait enregistrer une augmentation de presque 14 % de 2017 à 2022, la plus élevée parmi toutes les régions à l’échelle mondiale. Les marchés les plus attractifs en Asie sont la Chine, la Corée du Sud, le Japon tandis que les principaux marchés émergents sont Taïwan et Singapour en Asie du Sud Est.

(Sources :  Marketing Chine – Juillet 2019 |Business France – 2019 | agence Adocc- mai 2020 | Ambafrance.org  )

Le marché Américain

La crise sanitaire mondiale, les contraintes douanières n’ont pas épargnées le secteur des vins et spiritueux en Amérique du Nord, tous les acteurs de l’industrie se sont vus contraints à adapter leurs canaux de distribution. Avec une consommation annuelle de 11 litres par habitant en Amérique du Nord, les ventes en ligne depuis des plateformes web dédiés, la démocratisation de la livraison à domicile, … le e-commerce prend tout son sens et s’octroie une place déterminante sur le marché américain.

Avec 650 millions de consommateurs, 2 Md USD d’importation et une évolution des mentalités culturelles, l’Amérique latine voit : sa consommation de vin multiplié par 2, un intérêt grandissant des consommateurs pour les appellations des vins étrangers et pour les IGP aux côtés des AOP et AOC notamment auprès de l’Argentine, de l’Uruguay et le Chili.

Les consommateurs sont globalement sensibles au facteur prix, mais les catégories socio professionnelles les plus élevées tendent à rechercher des produits de meilleure qualité et nouveaux.

En dépit de l’impact de la COVID 19, des aléas politiques et crises économiques, les marchés américains restent porteurs et offrent de nombreuses opportunités pour les producteurs désireux d’exporter leur vin.

(Sources :  Business France San Francisco – avril 2020 | Vitisphere et Team France Export – juin 2020)

Le marché Européen

Avec +5% des importations mondiales en volume en 2018 et 3 des 5 pays (la France, l’Italie, l’Allemagne, les Etats-Unis, la Chine) qui rassemblent à eux seuls 50% de la consommation mondiale, le secteur Vins et Spiritueux représente 65% des parts de marchés de l’Union Européenne.

De nombreux pays comme la Pologne, la Roumanie, la Hongrie, l’Ukraine…s’orientent vers des habitudes de consommation plus occidentales. La hausse de leur pouvoir d’achat profite au marché des vins dont la consommation ne cesse de progresser. Le développement de la culture des wine-bars, la multiplication des actions de promotion des vins et d’éducation du consommateur favorise la croissance du marché.

Le marché européen présente également, depuis quelques années, un très fort intérêt pour les vins premiums, Bio /Organic, à haute valeur environnemental (HVE), naturels, en biodynamie … 

Entre préoccupations sanitaires et modifications des moments de consommation, les opportunités d’affaires restent nombreuses.  Malgré une forte compétition entre pays producteurs, les experts restent confiants pour les exportations européennes qui devraient être préservées par la forte demande pour les vins ayant une indication géographique.

(Sources :  Business France – 2019 | agence Adocc- mai 2020 | Ambafrance.org | CCI France – 2019
France Agrimer – juillet 2020 | vinetsociete.fr – 2019 | la revue du vin de France – 2018 | vitisphère – jan 2020)